Guess who’s back!

Well. Blogging may not have been the success I had hoped, but never mind, back on that horse (or pony – ha). For those of you who haven’t been up to date via Pony’s Facebook page, here is a quick wrap-up of what’s been going on over the last 18 months or so*:

– I designed Midnight Pony’s logo and labels
– I opened an Etsy shop! And actually sold something, to somebody I don’t know
– A market stall happened. Not super successful, but a good experience nonetheless (Optimistic Pony)
– I sold lots of cushions and baby burp cloths to friends, colleagues, and friends of friends. Products have ended up as far away as Norway. Spreading the fabric love!
– Oh, I finished my PhD…
– And am now on a mid-life-crisis-type World Tour. More on that soon!

MidnightPony

So not bad from my original list of goals, written back on my 28th birthday (I’ll be 30 soon, eek!). Regular blogging was also on this list, which I aim to be better at now that the idea of sitting at the computer and typing doesn’t fill me with dread (that thesis took a while to get over. I’m possibly not quite over it yet. Shudder).

Another goal I had was to design and print my own fabrics. I have taken steps towards this, including learning to use Adobe Illustrator, and printing test swatches using Spoonflower. I’m still nowhere near where I would like to be, but very much enjoying the learning process!

Midnight Pony

All in all, I’ve had a great start to this journey with Midnight Pony. Sure, sometimes she’s a pain in the ass (and spends too much money), but we’ve spent many a glorious weekend sewing up a storm and it’s been a great excuse to buy fabric (there is nothing better than fabric in the mail – opening up the package to see all those gorgeous colours!).

Time for a fresh set of goals:

– Regularly blog! (no seriously. I’m going to try harder this time)
– Design a prettier blog (or buy a theme…whatever…)
– Draw often, and develop motifs and ideas for fabrics
– Read other sewing blogs, and be more active in the online community
– Keep Calm and Dream About Making Things (the downside of the World Tour – I couldn’t bring my sewing machine)

I think I’ll keep the list short this time ;).

Love,

Pony xxxx

*No Pony is an island, and I have been oh-so-fortunate to have wonderful people in my life encouraging me along the way. From friends helping at market to flatmates putting up with fabric EVERYWHERE, and everyone in between, you know who you are – thank you!

Follow my blog with Bloglovin

Leave a Reply

